Unique experiments in fractured crystalline rock

GeoLaB (Geothermal Laboratory in the Crystalline Basement) is a planned Helmholtz large-scale infrastructure. The international and interdisciplinary research platform focuses on the thermal-hydraulic-mechanical-chemical (THMC) processes of deep geothermal reservoirs and reservoir engineering issues. The overarching aim of the research is a safe and ecologically sustainable use of the most important geothermal resources in Germany and worldwide.

For this purpose, a generic underground geoscientific laboratory in the fractured crystalline basement of the Schwarzwald-Odenwald complex shall be built. This rock type has the greatest geothermal potential worldwide for geothermal electricity generation and heat supply and is also highly relevant for other geotechnologies.

3D-Abbildung Kluftöffnungen und Fließrate
Analysis 3D flow through rough fractures

3D flow simulation with Navier-Stokes and stochastically modelled complex geometries explains channeling

Zur Veröffentlichung
Untertagelabor GeoLaB: Experimentelles Setup
Geothermal energy indispensable for the heat transition

Joint Roadmap of Helmholtz-Centres and Fraunhofer-Institutes shows fields of action for a sustainable heat provision

Press release
Eva Schill
Appointment of Prof. Eva Schill to the Editorial Board "Energies"

GeoLaB project manager Prof. Eva Schill was appointed to the editorial board of the magazine "Energies" in May 2020. Now three Helmholtz actors are represented in the geothermal section of the journal.

Editorial Board "Energies", Section "Geo-Energy"
Strömungssimulationen
Flow qantification in fractures with rough surfaces

Based on an algorithm for generating fractal surfaces, the anisotropic flow properties through fractures in rocks were investigated for the first time and compared with different modeling approaches in a statistical analysis. 

Marchand et al. (2020): Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering
Proteste gegen GeothermieGeckeis
A geoethical concept for GeoLaB

A geoethical concept for GeoLaB is presented. This goes beyond typical communication and PR measures and combines research with social perception.

Meller et al. (2018): Geothermics 73, 133-145.
Arbeiten im Felslabor in ÄspöBremer
Preparatory experiments in the Äspö Hard Rock Laboratory

The Äspö Hard Rock Laboratory in Sweden offers excellent opportunities for preliminary tests with regard to experiments in GeoLaB. Indeed, groundbreaking results have already been achieved in hydraulic stimulation experiments under the direction of the GFZ.

Zang et al. (2017): Geophysical Journal International 208 (2)

Einzigartige Experimente im geklüfteten kristallinen Gestein

GeoLaB (Geothermie-Labor im Bergwerk) ist eine geplante Helmholtz-Großinfrastruktur. Im Fokus der internationalen und interdisizplinären Forschungsplattform stehen die thermisch-hydraulisch-mechanisch-chemischen (THMC) Prozesse tiefer geothermischer Reservoire und Fragestellungen im Bereich des Reservoirengineering. Ziel der Forschung ist eine sichere und ökologisch nachhaltige Nutzung der wichtigsten Geothermieressourcen in Deutschland und weltweit.

Hierzu soll ein ein generisches geowissenschaftlichen Untertagelaboratorium im geklüfteten kristallinen Grundgebirge aufgefahren werden. Dieses Gestein hat weltweit das größte geothermische Potenzial zur Stromgewinnung und Wärmeversorgung und besitzt auch für andere Geotechnologien große Relevanz. 

GeoLaB ist als gemeinsame Forschungsinfrastruktur der Helmholtz-Forschungsbereiche "Energie" und "Erde und Umwelt" konzipiert. Denn nur wenn in GeoLaB beide Perspektiven zusammenkommen, kann eine umweltgerechte Technologieentwicklung gelingen. So wird in synergetischer Forschung eine langfristige Energieversorgung mit nachhaltiger Ressourcennutzung verbunden. 

3D-Abbildung Kluftöffnungen und Fließrate
Analyse 3D-Strömung durch raue Klüfte

3D-Simulation mit Navier-Stokes und stochastisch erstellten komplexen Geometrien zur Analyse der Strömung erklärt Channelling

Zur Veröffentlichung
Roadmap Geothermie 2022
Geothermie unverzichtbar für eine Wärmewende

Gemeinsame Roadmap von Helmholtz-Zentren und Fraunhofer-Instituten zeigt Handlungsfelder einer nachhaltigen Wärmeversorgung auf.

Zur Pressemitteilung
Eva Schill
Berufung von Prof. Eva Schill in Editorial Board "Energies"

GeoLaB-Projektleiterin Prof. Eva Schill wurde im Mai 2020 ins Editorial Board der Zeitschrift „Energies“ berufen. Damit sind nun zwei weitere Helmholtz-Akteure in der Geothermie-Sektion der Zeitschrift vertreten.

Editorial Board "Energies", Sektion Geothermie
Strömungssimulationen
Quantifizierung der Strömung in Küften mit rauen Oberflächen

Basierend auf einem Algorithmus zur Erzeugung von fraktalen Oberflächen wurden erstmals die anisotropen Strömungseigenschaften durch Klüfte in Gesteinen untersucht und mit verschiedenen Modellierungsansätzen in einer statistischen Analyse verglichen. 

Marchand et al. (2020): Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering
Proteste gegen GeothermieGeckeis
Ein geoethisches Konzept für GeoLaB

Ein geoethisches Konzept für GeoLaB wird vorgestellt. Dieses geht über typische Kommunikations- und PR-Maßnahmen hinaus und verknüpft Forschung mit sozialer Wahrnehmung.

Meller et al. (2018): Geothermics 73, 133-145.
Arbeiten im Felslabor in ÄspöBremer
Vorversuche im Äspö Hard Rock Laboratory, Schweden

Das Äspö Hard Rock Laboratory in Schweden bietet hervorragende Möglichkeiten zu Vorversuchen im Hinblick auf Experimente in GeoLaB. Tatsächlich wurden schon wegweisende Ergebnisse bei hydraulischen Stimulationsexperimenten unter Leitung des GFZ erzielt.

Zang et al. (2017): Geophysical Journal International 208 (2)